Premier League Winners: The only 7 teams that have won the title

In 1992, 22 English teams including Manchester United, Arsenal, Southampton, and Norwich City broke away from the Football league to create the English Premier League (EPL). Although it began with 22 teams, today only 20 teams compete in the league. The Football League on the other hand was founded in 1888. Since then, 24 teams have won the English title.

However, since its inception in 1992, only 7 teams have managed to lift the premier league trophy. Manchester United, the most successful club in England in terms of titles won, tops the list of the 7 premier league winners with 13 titles. Manchester City, who are the current champions as well as Chelsea come in second having won 5 titles each. The Gunners come in 3rd with 3 titles.

Although Liverpool is also one of the most successful clubs in England with a total of 66 trophies, it only has won the premier league title once, in the 2019-20 season. The team had however won the English title 18 times before the premier league. Blackburn Rovers, who now compete in the Championship, and Leicester City have also won the premier league trophy. Arsenal, Chelsea, Everton, Liverpool, Manchester United, and Tottenham Hotspur are the 6 teams that have never been relegated from the EPL. This article talks about the premier league winners and when they lifted the title.

1. Manchester United — 13 titles

Although Manchester United has not lifted the premier league trophy since the 2012-13 season, it still remains the most successful club in the English Premier League. The Red Devils were the premier league winners in these years: 1992-93, 1993-94, 1995-96, 1996-97, 1998-99, 1999-2000, 2000-01, 2002-03, 2006-07, 2007-08, 2008-09, 2010-11, 2012-13. The club won all these trophies with Alex Ferguson as the manager. No other coach has lifted the premier league trophy with the team. Manchester United holds the record for the most consecutive title wins in the seasons 1998/99-2000/01 as well as 2006/07-2008/09.

2. Manchester City — 5 titles

Manchester City is the current England champions. The club lifted its first premier league title in the 2011-12 season under Coach Robert Mancini. It also won the title in the 2013-14 season with Manuel Pellegrini and has since lifted 3 more titles with Pep Guardiola in the 2017-18, 2018-19, 2020-21 seasons. The Citizens won the title in 2018 with 100 points and are the only team in the premier league to gain 100 points in a single season. In 2019 Manchester City became the first men’s team to win all four domestic titles — the premier league, FA Cup, Community Shield, and the Carabao Cup.

2 (tie). Chelsea — 5 titles

chelsea players celebrating after winning the premier league

Chelsea last lifted the premier league title in the 2016-17 season under Antonio Conte. Together with Manchester City, Chelsea has won a total of 5 premier league titles. Apart from the 2016-17 season, Chelsea was also the English champion in the 2004-05, 2005-06, 2009-10, 2014-15 seasons. Chelsea is one of the 6 ever-present teams in the premier league since it began in 1992. From February 21, 2004, to October 26, 2008, Chelsea played 86 home games unbeaten, the longest Premier League unbeaten home run. The team is the only English club to have won the 3 major UEFA titles, the Champions League, the Europa League, and the UEFA Super Cup.

3. Arsenal — 3 titles

The Gunners have not won the premier league title since the 2003-04 season. Nonetheless, they are one of only seven teams that have won the title which is still an achievement. Before winning their last trophy in 2004, Arsenal had also lifted the title in the 2001-02 and 2003-04 seasons all of which were under the management of Arsene Wenger. The club has also won a record 14 FA Cups, two Carabao Cups as well as 16 FA Community Shields. According to, Arsenal completed the 2003-04 season without losing a single game, something that has not been done by any other team in the Premier League.

Related: The 20 Highest Paid Players in the Premier League this Season

4 (tie). Blackburn Rovers — 1 title

Blackburn Rovers currently play in the English Championship and are one of the only seven teams to have won the English Premier League. The club lifted its only EPL title in the 1994-95 season. Despite winning the title, the club performed poorly in the following seasons and was relegated in the 1998-99 season. In the 2000-01 season, they returned to the premier league and were relegated to the championship again in 2012. After spending five years in the championship, they were again relegated to League One. In 2018 they returned to the Championship.

4 (tie). Liverpool — 1 title


The Reds, are one of the most successful football clubs in England in terms of trophies won. Despite only winning one premier league title in the 2019-20 season, Liverpool has won a total of 66 trophies. It has won a total of 19 English titles since the establishment of the Football League in 1888. Manchester United leads with 20 titles. Liverpool is one of the richest football clubs in the world as of now. In the 2019-20 season, The Reds had 18 home wins, the most premier league wins in a season — a record also held by Chelsea, Manchester United, and Manchester City.

4 (tie). Leicester City — 1 title

The Foxes were the premier league champions in the 2015-16 season. This was their first and the only EPL title. Leicester City has been in the Premier League since 2014 after winning the Championship in the 2013-14 season. The club is one of five teams to have won the Premier League, the FA Cup, and the League Cup since 2000. Other clubs that have done so include Manchester United, Liverpool, Manchester City, and Chelsea. In March 2017 the team became the 50th club to reach the Champions League quarter-finals.

Related Posts

Add Comment

error: Content is protected !!